Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) —

This federal agency manages Medicare and Medicaid programs. This group issues the rules that healthcare providers must follow to receive payment for services.

American Hospital Association —

A national organization representing and serving all types of hospitals, health care networks, and their patients and communities.

American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) —

National association for health information management (HIM) professionals.

American Academy of Professional Coders —

National association created to raise quality standards of medical coding industry.

National Center for Health Statistics —

Part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, this site publishes statistical information about America’s health, including birth, death and use of healthcare services.

American Medical Association —

National association of physicians dedicated to promoting medical science and improving public health.

Office of the Inspector General —

Part of the Department of Health and Human Services, this agency investigates Medicare fraud, abuse and waste practices.

Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) —

Resources for understanding national standards for electronic health care transactions and laws protecting confidentiality, integrity and availability of patients’ health information.

National Institute of Health –

The nation’s medical research agency—supporting scientific studies that turn discovery into health.

ICD-10 Trainer –